top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMallory Frost

I Think This is the Beginning of a Beautiful Oscar Season

Hi everyone! I know, I know, you are probably thinking, “Mallory, are you really going to attempt to write a blog about this seasons Oscar nominations when you never completed the two previous years?” Uh, yeah. I am currently a stay at home (soon to be) wife, and there is a pandemic going on. I have no excuses this time. Just in case I stop writing though (since this is normal for me) I am only going to publish this on my blog and not share on my social media. Only my few subscribers will see this for now. So to those lucky few ... hello!


This year is weird. Really weird. There is a pandemic going on which has forced the closure on movie theatres all over the country. This has caused the Academy to pause its rules about films needing to be in theatres in order to be allowed for a nomination. They considered this a temporary change stating that “there is no greater way to experience the magic of movies than to see them in a theater”. As someone who literally drove five hours to

see Tennet this year, I do agree that there is nothing like watching a film in theatres. The everyday distractions disappear, the screen’s quality and sound are better, and there is nothing quite like enjoying a movie simultaneously with two hundred other people. Cinema, though, is an ever changing medium. We are not going to the theatre to watch a silent film accompanied by a live orchestra, now are we? Films created for the small, small screen are the way of the future. Streaming services are more affordable, allow films to reach a broader audience, and made film watching possible during COVID-19. A good fun fact for anyone I have not convinced yet: studies have found that the people who watch the most on streaming sites are the people who are most likely to be going to movie theatres. Theatres will be alright.


There are a few other less controversial changes this year as well. Instead of being held in February, it will be held on April 25th. The Oscar’s always occur around my birthday, which I love. It’s like the universe just knew I would be a movie lover and gave me a little present each year. Having the awards in Spring just feels wrong. But, with vaccines becoming readily available, and Covid rates decreasing, maybe we will have a red carpet event for the first time. I, for one, need a new Billy Porter look to fawn over. Another change is that sound mixing and editing will be in one category. Honestly, I’ve taken audio classes in college, yet I still find myself googling a refresher on the difference between editing and mixing every award season. I don’t think this is the worst idea to combine the two. Maybe this will allow for newer categories in the future (best stunt performer would get my vote!). There has also been a change in the international film category that I will touch on later on when I start viewing this category.


I am super excited to get into this season and to let you all know about all of my thoughts. Lights, camera, action!




10 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page