top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMallory Frost

Go Ahead, Academy, Make My Day

Updated: Apr 7, 2021


Hello Hello Hello! The day I wait for all year is here: Oscar nominations are out. Well, the nomination show was a little boring, but then again what can be that exciting at 5 in the morning? Sure, Nick Jonas and Priyanka Chopra are a beautiful couple, but that's pretty much it. I still think Tiffany Haddish was the best to ever announce the nominees and I would be okay if she announced it every year. And in the words of Forrest Gump, "That's all I have to say about that."


Every year I try watching films I assume will be nominated before the nominations come out. One film I thought would be nominated just by judging the trailer was Music. If the trailer did catch the eyes of the Academy, they were probably super disappointed like I was. The story could have been something great but flopped in the ending for me. It was really the only newly released film I have watched for months. Recently I have attempted to watch every film in the Marvel universe, and I cannot stop binging Schitt’s Creek. I just did not have any room to watch anything else. The point in me mentioning this is to let you all know that I am super-duper behind for this Oscar season. The only films I did see were Onward, Soul, Tenet, and Borat (I will not be typing the entire title every time I speak of this film). The good thing is that this should be the easiest year to watch the films since over half of them are available to stream. Also, as of Monday we can start going to theatres over here in Los Angeles. Woohoo!



The hashtag can be changed, you guys. We have a touch of ethnicity in the nominees that we can celebrate. It’s not perfect, but it is a step away from the white direction and into the RIGHT direction. First off, we must bow down to the queen that is the MOST Oscar nominated Black actress of all time: Ms. Viola Davis. I still can’t get over her spitting during her Oscar winning scene in Fences. Almost every film she is in is made better just by her appearing in it. I cannot think of anyone more talented and deserving than she is. Other black nominees this year include Chadwick Boseman, Andra Day (who I absolutely love), Daniel Kaluuya, Lakieth Stanfield & my beautiful crush Leslie Odom Jr. We can also celebrate that not only do we have the very first Asian American nominee for best actor, but we also have TWO Asian actors up against each other for the category: Steven Yeun and Riz Ahmed.


Another reason to fill up our champagne glasses is for the ladies. In the entirety of Oscar history, we have only had FIVE, yes, I did say five, women nominated for best director. This year we have two women up for the pristine prize. Chloe Zhao is the very first set of ovaries to have been nominated for four different categories. This year women have received 76 nominations. It’s a damn beautiful thing.


Time to start watching!




Every year I try and keep track of all the films in my notepad on my iPhone. It never comes out right and I always find myself on Oscars.org trying to find what films I still need to watch. I have made my life easy this year by creating my very first excel spreadsheet, thanks to my techie fiancé. (Now my resume actually has some truth to it.) I setup every nominated film, what it is nominated for, and where it can be seen. If you want to download it for yourself click on the PDF down below. It makes it way easy to keep track of what films you still need to see. I color coded the shorts in purple and the films up for Best Picture in gold. I have 40 films (not counting shorts) and 40 days to watch them. Sounds like I am in for a great season.


10 views0 comments

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page